Meet Our Texas Legends

These four Texas Legends, who are pillars of the community, are the honorees at our 2nd Annual Rotary Club of The Woodlands Texas Legends Crawfish Boil on Sunday, April 7 from 2:00 to 5:00 pm. Tickets are $25. Secure your tickets here.

Tom Cox Sr.
Mr. Cox has a long history of service on boards and committees: Parents of Advisory Board McCullough High School; Member of Committee (steering) for the new Community College; Rotary Club – Restoration Committee Chair; President and Founding member of Friends of Tamina (sewer & water project); Member of St. Simon St. Jude Building Committee; Board member for Angel Reach (Foster Kids); Member of Martin Luther King Celebration Committee of The Woodlands (1989-Present); Member of Friends of Library (1989-1991) (worked on restoring the library after a fire); among many other notable services and achievements.

Julie P. Martineau
Julie joined Montgomery County Community Foundation as their executive director in 2017. Her previous work as the president of Montgomery County United Way and as a non-profit consultant honed her skills in developing non-profit business plans, strategic plans, fund raising plans, change management, and other products to help organizations grow effectively and efficiently. She holds a bachelor’s degree in social work from California State University at Long Beach. Her professional career has been dedicated to building the capacity of the non-profit community in order to expand the number of people served through effective, customer centered services.

She is on the board of HCA Healthcare System Conroe and founding president of Rotary House The Woodlands. She has served as chair of The Woodlands Area Chamber of Commerce, president of the Rotary Club of The Woodlands, co-chair of the Conroe Chamber of Commerce Workforce Development Committee, and president of the League of Women Voters of Montgomery County. She was the co-founding chair of Leadership Montgomery County. Additional leadership positions have been with the Greater Conroe Chamber of Commerce, Houston-Galveston Area Council, National Charity League Bluebonnet Chapter, and United Ways of Texas. Montgomery County’s Commissioners’ Court tapped her to represent Montgomery County on several Houston-Galveston Area Council’s committees addressing aging services, Hurricane Ike Recovery Grants, and Regional Transit Planning.

John Hathaway
John Hathaway has been a member of the Rotary Club of The Woodlands since 1982, except for a three-year period (2003-2006) in which he was transferred to Oklahoma City where he joined the newly formed Bricktown Rotary Club, and has maintained perfect attendance since first joining Rotary. He has served in many capacities in each of his clubs, including President (1989-90) of The Woodlands Club and many years as chair of the Rotary Foundation and Scholarship committees.

He has served District 5910 as Assistant Governor (2014-2017), Membership Chair (2013-2016) and World Community Affairs Chair (1986-87) and has attended International Conventions and several Zone conferences. John and his wife since 1975, Nancy, have hosted several Youth Exchange Students and have visited the families of two of the students in Slovakia and Sweden. John and Nancy are Major Donors to the Rotary Foundation and are members of the Paul Harris Society. John is a member of the District 5910 Roll of Fame.

J.R. Moore
J.R. has been a resident of Montgomery County since 1976. He is married to his wife Rena, has one son John, daughter in law Kim, and three grandsons, Justin, Dylan, and Mason. J.R. retired in 2014 from his position as Montgomery County Tax Assessor Collector, a position he held for 27 years. Some of his career highlights include: Rotary Club of The Woodlands; The Woodlands Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors; The Woodlands Chamber of Commerce Vice President as well as numerous committee chairmanships; 2014 Chamber Legacy Award; Crime-stoppers Advisory Member and Past Chairman of the Board; Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 Montgomery County; Mayor and Councilman for City of Shenandoah; and Town Center Improvement District – Representative for City of Shenandoah.